Thursday Talks | Anime 101

Thursday Talks is a feature I came up with where on Thursdays I discuss anything. Be it books, authors, artists, controversy and etc. I enjoy telling people about the things I like or find interesting or just topics that get me fired up. So on Thursdays I’ll write about a topic that I want to tell you about.

So on to my first ever post for Thursday Talks. Although this blog is not meant solely for book blogging due to me having many interests I have only ever posted book related things. So now I will introduce to you another of my interests, Anime.


Let’s begin with a definition.

In Western culture and probably anywhere that is not Japan, anime is defined as:

A style of Japanese film and TV animation, typically aimed at adults as well as children. (Source)

In Japan however anime “アニメ” is shorthand for “animation” (アニメーション or “animeeshon”). Meaning it does not refer to a certain style or type of animation from any specific place. In fact, anime “アニメ” is used to refer to all sorts of popular animated Western shows such as Disney movies and Tom and Jerry. (Source)

So, for this blog I will be using the Western definition of anime so I don’t confuse myself.
As mentioned before anime is Japanese animation but there is more to it than that. When people say “anime” the stereotype of large eyes and crazy hair colours often come to mind, especially for people who don’t watch it or dislike it. Something like this maybe?

No Game No Life Wallpaper by Redeye27
Shiro from No Game No Life (Source)

Although, the stereotype is very true it also a little unfair because there are a wide variety of animation styles within anime. This is why when the word “anime” is defined it always mentions that it is a “a style of Japanese animation” all because of this stereotype.

Doukyuusei (Source)

Maybe it is because of this that so many people dislike anime so much in Western cultures. Due to stereotypes that reduce it to one type of thing when it is so wide and vast. Of course, there is also the extreme anime fans who sometimes take their love of anime too far. This and many other factors paint a bad picture of anime. I’m here to tell you that it is not all bad.

Anime just like any animated or non-animated show on TV depends solely on the individual. There are a hundred different genres to choose from and hundreds and thousands of finished anime to dive into. Just like normal TV shows anime episodes range around 25-30+ minutes but there are also anime with short episodes which play for about 10 minutes.

Bonjour Koiaji Patisserie

The best thing about anime is there are hundreds and thousands to choose from. Meaning there is at least something for anyone. Want sports related anime? Soccer? Badminton? Swimming? Basketball? There is an anime about it. Want cooking anime? Got it! Want Horror or Psychological? Got that! Want Adventure Fantasy anime? We got those in spades!!

Some of the more well known anime within the Western culture are: (Click name for more information)

Anime mentioned above are the most commonly known anime within Western culture. Even people who don’t know or aren’t aware of anime know of at least one due to its popularity within pop culture.

Now there are two ways anime can be watched: subbed or dubbed. Subbed means watching it with Japanese voice actors but with English (or whatever language) subtitles and Dubbed means watching it with English voice actors. This means that the anime gained rights for it to be translated into English and the characters are then voiced by English voice actors. There are many, many arguments about which is superior but this is a personal choice and depends on the individual. Personally, I prefer watching with subtitles. There is just something for me about hearing it in Japanese that makes the experience better but having said that there are anime that I enjoy watching in dub such as Ouran High School Host Club. Mainly because the voice actors did a superb job.

Ouran High School Host Club

Some of my recommendations for beginners: (Click the name for more info)

Romance

Rom/Com

Slice of Life

Or you could tackle the following anime which are often referred to as “Classics”: (Just to mention a few)

Despite all of this information though, it really just depends on you. Whether you watch anime or not is your choice and nobody should be forcing that choice. Just like TV shows it is an indulgence and a wonderful escape from reality.


This marks the end of my first ever Thursday Talks post. Hopefully we all learnt a little something new because I definitely did. I guess what I’m trying to express is that anime isn’t as bad as it is made out to be. I am neither forcing you to watch anime, that is entirely your choice, nor am I saying that it is absolutely brilliant and without flaw because there are plenty of flaws and downfalls.

But if you decide to give anime a try,

I welcome you to hell! You can’t get out. Enjoy your stay. (^.^)

All jokes aside though, anime is wonderful and it continues to surprise me in all the brilliant things it brings.

PS. If you see that I’ve made any mistakes please feel free to inform me. I’ll correct it as best as I can.

 

What do you think??

