The Crown – Kiera Cass

Title: The Crown
Author: Kiera Cass
Publisher: Harper Collins
Source: eBook
Synopsis:

26074181When Eadlyn became the first princess of Illéa to hold her own Selection, she didn’t think she would fall in love with any of her thirty-five suitors. She spent the first few weeks of the competition counting down the days until she could send them all home. But as events at the palace force Eadlyn even further into the spotlight, she realizes that she might not be content remaining alone.

Eadlyn still isn’t sure she’ll find the fairytale ending her parents did twenty years ago. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and soon Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more impossible—and more important—than she ever imagined.
From Goodreads


My Thoughts

This is what I call a come-back. I only read this book because I LOVE this series (with the exception of The Heir which I disliked) but it was definitely worth it. Half-way through The Heir I wanted to stop reading (I didn’t but that’s not the point) but The Crown showed development and progress in its characters I felt was missing from the previous book especially from Eadlyn. Also, I just enjoyed this more than the previous book. I found it far more engaging as well and it captivated far more than The Heir.

Now let’s talk about Eadlyn. In the The Heir, I HATED her but in The Crown my opinions of her have shifted to a more considerably positive view. Here she shows more consideration for others who are not herself or her immediate family. She actually starts acting like a human about her situation. She makes mistakes, has breakdowns and asks others for help. Before she was just a distant figure that was perfect and royal, now I can relate to her (to some extent because I’m not royalty). I suppose this shift was craftily planned. Thinking on it now I think we were supposed to not like Eadlyn in The Heir because in that book her personality was not likeable and that was the point. In The Crown we see her change literally to more likeable main character.

Although I enjoyed this book I do have some issues but I’ll only discuss one. That is that, The Crown has insta-love feelings or the whole romance feels a little rushed. Granted the premise of the romance kind of demanded that Eadlyn make her choice lightning fast. In a sense, it sort-of felt like Kiera Cass was pushing to romance fast-forward in order to resolve the problem. Don’t get me wrong I love how it ended. I love the resolution and revelations. I’m just saying that it gave off that vibe. The epilogue is perfection though. I would not change that for anything in the world. It is a perfect ending to Eadlyn’s story but also to The Selection series.

Also, special note to Henri. Henri is the most precious character out of The Heir and The Crown. Despite the language barrier he still put in his moneys worth to the Selection and I found that very touching. I think he can come off as a bit of a forced character. As if he were only there to provide the romantic interest or the convenient husband for Eadlyn. Personally I think that is incorrect. Without him Eadlyn wouldn’t have learnt more about herself and improved. She most definitely wouldn’t have had the cheeky kiss in The Heir. The point is he is still pivotal to the story. So to end on a Henri note.

“You are love”


My Rating

four.png

What do you think??

