A Monster Calls – Patrick Ness

 

8621462
From Goodreads

Title: A Monster Calls
AuthorPatrick Ness
Publisher: Candlewick Press
Source: eBook

 

The monster showed up after midnight. As they do.

But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming…

This monster is something different, though. Something ancient, something wild. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor.

It wants the truth.


My Thoughts

I have read close to hundreds of books that have made me cry but nothing like A Monster Calls. Trying to look back to all books, I can distinctly remember that nothing quite compares to how I felt while and after I read this book. From the beginning of the book I felt that feeling you have when you know you’re going to cry. Your throat dries and it feels blocked like you can’t breathe. Your heart is suddenly heavy. All that happened but more importantly that feeling never disappeared until the end of book where finally I was relieved by the physical strain of NEEDING to cry as I read the end. That feeling of crying just built and built and built until the dam was blown up by those last sentences. It destroyed my feelings. I was disoriented and sad so very sad.

This book is dark and honest, brutally so. This honesty is hard to swallow but so real. I think that is what makes it so hard to take. That feeling of reality. As if the very words on the pages and the monster that Patrick Ness conjured were very much reality and not just part of a narrative. Granted the circumstances in the book are very much reality to hundreds and thousands of families and individuals whose loved ones suffer from cancer. But cancer isn’t the overarching message. It isn’t the reason why the monster has come walking.

That is another factor that I loved about the book. You begin to believe that you know why but at each turn of a page that belief is questioned and your left not knowing. Throughout the book until the end you never know, you think you know at some points but until you read the end you never really know.

Out of all the books I’ve read recently this book is the only one that made me want to write about it. This overwhelming need to tell everyone just how wonderful and great this book is. I always struggle with using the word ‘amazing’ to describe books but I feel like that is the only appropriate word to describe A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness. So yes, it is an amazing book! Now go read it!!


My Rating

5

Any Thoughts??

