New To Me (#2)

This is a post about books that aren’t necessarily newly published or released but books that I haven’t heard of. These newly discovered books  will be added to my To Be Read list. Not that it needs more books but the more the merrier! Right?! Let the actual post begin!


Pretty Dark Nothing by Heather L. Reid

From Delicate Eternity: Pretty covers and intriguing concept from what I read of the synopsis. Also her reviews helped convince me to read it.

Synopsis:

It’s been twenty three days since Quinn has slept for more than minutes at a time. Demons have invaded her dreams, stalking her, and whispering of her death. The lack of sleep and crippling fear are ruining her life. Energy drinks and caffeine pills don’t make a dent. When Quinn dozes off in the school hallway, Aaron, an amnesiac with a psychic ability, accidentally enters her nightmare. The demons are determined to keep them apart, and Aaron from discovering the secret locked away in his memory. Together, they could banish the darkness back to the underworld for good. That is, unless the demons kill them first

The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

I found this book through a Must Love Books review. The synopsis really intrigued and captured my attention. Her review also made me want to read the book! Click the links to visit her blog and her review of The Husband’s Secret.

Synopsis:

At the heart of The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty is a letter that’s not meant to be read…Mother of three and wife of John-Paul, Cecilia discovers an old envelope in the attic. Written in her husband’s hand, it says: to be opened only in the event of my death. Curious, she opens it – and time stops. John-Paul’s letter confesses to a terrible mistake which, if revealed, would wreck their family as well as the lives of others. Cecilia – betrayed, angry and distraught – wants to do the right thing, but right for who? If she protects her family by staying silent, the truth will worm through her heart. But if she reveals her husband’s secret, she will hurt those she loves most…

A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston

I have just recently finished reading The Wrath and The Dawn. I loved it so much that it started an One Thousand and One Nights related obsession. I researched the origins and the stories and just obsessed over it. During this period I reread my owned volumes of the fantasy and action manga Magi: The Labyrinth of Magic, which borrowed several elements from the original story like characters, their names and back stories, which just made my obsession worse. I love the One Thousand and One Nights stories and along my obsessive journey I found this book. So while I am eagerly waiting for this book to be available in my frequented book shops. I will leave this AH- MAZING synopsis for you to read.

Synopsis:

Lo-Melkhiin killed three hundred girls before he came to her village, looking for a wife. When she sees the dust cloud on the horizon, she knows he has arrived. She knows he will want the loveliest girl: her sister. She vows she will not let her be next.

And so she is taken in her sister’s place, and she believes death will soon follow. Lo-Melkhiin’s court is a dangerous palace filled with pretty things: intricate statues with wretched eyes, exquisite threads to weave the most beautiful garments. She sees everything as if for the last time.But the first sun rises and sets, and she is not dead. Night after night, Lo-Melkhiin comes to her and listens to the stories she tells, and day after day she is awoken by the sunrise. Exploring the palace, she begins to unlock years of fear that have tormented and silenced a kingdom. Lo-Melkhiin was not always a cruel ruler. Something went wrong.

Far away, in their village, her sister is mourning. Through her pain, she calls upon the desert winds, conjuring a subtle unseen magic, and something besides death stirs the air.

Back at the palace, the words she speaks to Lo-Melkhiin every night are given a strange life of their own. Little things, at first: a dress from home, a vision of her sister. With each tale she spins, her power grows. Soon she dreams of bigger, more terrible magic: power enough to save a king, if she can put an end to the rule of a monster.

Another Day by David Levithan

I found out about Another Day from Christina Reads YA. I didn’t even know or imagine that Every Day would have a companion novel but I am so happy. Ecstatic that I found out about this companion novel but also apprehensive because I have such high expectations for it.

Synopsis:

Every day is the same for Rhiannon. She has accepted her life, convinced herself that she deserves her distant, temperamental boyfriend, Justin, even established guidelines by which to live: Don’t be too needy. Avoid upsetting him. Never get your hopes up.
Until the morning everything changes. Justin seems to see her, to want to be with her for the first time, and they share a perfect day—a perfect day Justin doesn’t remember the next morning. Confused, depressed, and desperate for another day as great as that one, Rhiannon starts questioning everything. Then, one day, a stranger tells her that the Justin she spent that day with, the one who made her feel like a real person . . . wasn’t Justin at all.


Whew, I remembered to post! Literally even more things to go on my TBR list. Also, if you read it all you would have read my short spiel on Magi: The Labyrinth of Magic, which I had to somehow put in because I love that manga! Sorry not sorry. Hey it’s related isn’t it?!


Am I the only one who hasn’t heard of these books? If you have any recommendations, shoot it down below.

signature

What do you think??

