Review: Because You’ll Never Meet Me

Title: Because We’ll Never Meet
Author: Leah Thomas
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Source: e-Book

Synopsis:

Ollie and Moritz are best friends, but they can never meet. Ollie is allergic to electricity. ContactimagesSE7GOSNZ with it causes debilitating seizures. Moritz’s weak heart is kept pumping by an electronic pacemaker. If they ever did meet, Ollie would seize. But Moritz would die without his pacemaker. Both hermits from society, the boys develop a fierce bond through letters that become a lifeline during dark times—as Ollie loses his only friend, Liz, to the normalcy of high school and Moritz deals with a bully set on destroying him.

A story of impossible friendship and hope under strange circumstances, this debut is powerful, dark and humorous in equal measure. These extraordinary voices bring readers into the hearts and minds of two special boys who, like many teens, are just waiting for their moment to shine.


My Thoughts

I’m going to be honest with you. I haven’t finished the book, yet. I will finish it though.

Because We’ll Never Meet started out with a burst of energy. If the words had the opportunity to leap out of my e-reader then it probably would have. Then it would dance everywhere in my room and light fireworks. Needless to say that I loved how it began. Oliver, or Olly should I say, is a constant bubble of seemingly infinite energy, curiosity, weirdness and happiness. It was this happiness that really got to me. I’ve read so many books with characters who are happy, just happy, but Olly is genuinely happy. Despite his condition and circumstance he is genuinely happy. The bright and undying light of happiness just shine through his words. I LOVED IT.

Moritz on the other hand is ultimately the complete opposite of Olly. He is immersed in the world that Olly can only dream of or imagine. I saw why he would feel irritated and annoyed by Olly because of what he has experienced in his life. But I felt that also he is categorising everyone under the same banner. I found him a nice contrast to Olly. Where Olly was extremely curious and happy, Moritz had a deep sadness. The kind of sad and anguish that is justified. He just broke my heart really. Despite his shaky start with, my precious, Olly you learn more about him and Olly, of course.

I love the structure of the novel. Before I started reading I was apprehensive as to the writing style. I’ve had pretty bad expereinces with letter format novels but Because You’ll Never Meet Me is not one. Thank Goodness! The different voices were also very clear. Novels with multiple points of view can sometimes get confusing. It can make it difficult to distinguish between two voices or characters but in this case Olly and Moritz are so different that it isn’t a major problem. Or a problem at all. Obviously I loved the two main characters.

The book is also very clever and just wonderfully written. The language complements each the main characters while still having that story telling vibe of a, I suppose you could say, novel in “normal” writing style. As in not letters, if you get what I mean. This paragraph is a mess…

Look all I know is I fell in love with the book from page 1. Yes,  I haven’t finished the book but damn it I feel like this should be written before I finish these last few chapters. When I finish I’ll put in my reaction in as an Edit section.


Rating

four stars


Final Thoughts

It seems weird that I am reviewing a book before I’ve finished but I just know when I finish this book ( I literally only have two chapters to go, WHAT THE HELL AM I DOING?!) I won’t be able to do anything, let alone write. Best to get this done now. It is just this amazing book about two wonderful individuals, their lives, struggles, the people around them and life. There are some things that I cannot mention here that would totally spoil the book. So my advice is you just read it.


JUST READ THE BOOK!

One thought on “Review: Because You’ll Never Meet Me

Any Thoughts??

