Review: The Heir by Kiera Cass

Title: The Heir
Author: Kiera Cass
Publisher: Harper Collins Australia
Source: Bought copy

Synopsis:

“Princess Eadlyn has grown up hearing endless stories about how her mother and father met. Twenty years ago, The-Heir_612x925America Singer entered the Selection and won the heart of Prince Maxon—and they lived happily ever after. Eadlyn has always found their fairy-tale story romantic, but she has no interest in trying to repeat it. If it were up to her, she’d put off marriage for as long as possible. But a princess’s life is never entirely her own, and Eadlyn can’t escape her very own Selection—no matter how fervently she protests. Eadlyn doesn’t expect her story to end in romance. But as the competition begins, one entry may just capture Eadlyn’s heart, showing her all the possibilities that lie in front of her . . . and proving that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she’s always thought.”


My thoughts on the matter at hand

Let’s do this quickly. You know like ripping off a band aid quickly so there’s no pain.

I didn’t like it.

Please don’t hurt me!

Don’t get me wrong I love The Selection trilogy (The Selection, The Elite and The One) but I felt like The One was the end. That was their happily ever after and when I found out about the Heir I was apprehensive at first and then more and more information was released about it and I just got sucked into the hype. The book is not terrible. I just felt like this shouldn’t be a part of the series because The Selection for me was about Maxon and America. Their journey and their story, The Heir is about afterwards. I get that this is their future but it is not about them anymore, there is someone new and Eadlyn is very different. One of the reasons that I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I thought I would is probably because it was made out like this was about Maxon’s and America’s future, where we learn more about what is going in their lives and relationships. Instead, there is Eadlyn who is very headstrong and desperate to be an independent woman.

I didn’t like her. Instantly I knew Eadlyn was not a character that I liked. She has a lot of qualities and characteristics that come from her parents but I felt like she was just too much for me. I found her to be manipulative, selfish, annoying and sometimes two-faced. Especially towards the candidates. She would wear this facade of being charmed by them or laughing along with them. When in the inside she is secretly hating them for what they stood for, her impending unwanted marraige.

Speaking of which, what the hell happened to Maxon and America? They are both so out of character that I’m tempted to say they are being played by imposters. I don’t understand this massive character change. I understand that they have been the ruling monarchs for a while and that ever since the caste system was removed chaos and whatnot has spread like fire but that doesn’t warrant for this massive about face in character. Yes, ruling a kingdom requires hard decisions to be made and that can affect someone negatively I know. Yes, all this stress about removing the unfair caste and dealing with the consequences is trying but at times it felt like every decision they make is for the kingdom. Eadlyn’s selection was devised as distraction in his desperate race to find answers to the problems going on in his kingdom. At that point Maxon reminded me a little of his dad.

The only thing, or should I say people, I liked in this book were the candidates and Ahren. I have so many favourites. I loved Henry first he is just so asdfghjkl;!!! I can’t even find the words but the others also had their endearing or charming moments. I liked their interactions with each other and some of the boys I felt were actually really genuine. I know Ahren really isn’t one of the main characters in this but I would gladly read about his story rather than Eadlyn’s. I feel like Ahren has more substance and I just find his story more intriguing than Eadlyn’s. Besides, he seems like the nicer twin.


Rating

two


Final Words

This book for me felt a little like false advertising. I guess I had such high expectations and they weren’t met it just ruined the book for me. Although I didn’t like Eadlyn, I still want to read the next book because I want to know how this ends and maybe just maybe, it might get better for me. Also, the prospect of more Henry and more of Ahren’s story is tempting, so very tempting.


What did you think? Does anyone else feel the same about this book? Or am I just being too harsh?

signature

One thought on “Review: The Heir by Kiera Cass

Any Thoughts??

