What I hate about Romance books?

Maybe I forgot to mention but I am a HUGE sucker for romance. I’ve read amazing romances, some not so good ones and even some that were really quite bad. Despite my love of the romance genre there are plenty of things I don’t like about it. That is what this is ALL about. Let’s get to it! (^o^)


Insta-Love

I don’t know about you guys but I’m more of a slow and sweet romantic person. Sure I enjoy reading the intense and sudden burst of passionate love but slow and sweet just gets me all the time. Insta-love for me doesn’t seem real. I feel like if the romance is just sudden with no other precedence other than liking their appearance than it won’t last. What makes it worse is that after the insta-love there is no other exploration of the love that suddenly just appeared. I suppose there is an insta-love romance book somewhere that is written beautifully that makes it feel like forever but I haven’t read it.

Love Square

Not a love triangle but a love SQUARE! I can handle love triangles, where there is one lovely person with two love interests but love squares NO! I have read books where there are 3 love interests and I just could not handle it. I mean sure I like some love triangles but I still struggle with others. Now imagine a girl who jumps from one person to another. This can be written skilfully like in The Clockwork series by Cassandra Clare but if not done right the protagonist can look like a (insert bad word starting with S, ending with T and has a U in the middle here). Or a girl who just cannot live without a man and isn’t fussed at all about who that man is. Of course, this doesn’t just apply to girls or women but also men. Love squares just make them look like the man version of (insert bad word starting with S, ending with T and has a U in the middle here).

When one is immortal and then the human somehow becomes immortal.

Yeah, that’s right. I’m looking at you Edward and Bella Cullen. I may like the Twilight Saga books but as I keep reading more and more I noticed. Every time a human falls in love with an immortal they always end up finding a way to become immortal themselves. Whether it be by becoming a vampire or selling their soul to the devil (LOL I haven’t read a book with this just yet! 😛 ) or even eating the pomegranate in Persephone’s garden in order to stay in the Underworld forever which is some form of living forever because she wasn’t dead when she ate the fruit. {take a deep breath} I wanted one where the couple makes the ultimate jump or sacrifice I suppose of loving each other but knowing their significant other will die because he or she is human. I think there is something to be said about loving someone who won’t live forever like you but still loving them with all your heart despite their short life span. Also, loving them so much to let them go when it’s their time to die but also continuing to live and loving them in his or her immortal heart. I think it makes the love sweeter and even more precious. So far I have only encountered this once and it wasn’t even a book it was a manga.

Perfection

Perfect couples are what I live for. Not perfect as in they are good at everything and anything no that is what I hate. Perfect couples as in they are perfect for each other and complement each other. The former is just boring. They can be brilliant but not perfect because nobody I mean NOBODY is perfect alright!! If they don’t have flaws or struggles or mistakes then they are not human or real. I get that in books anything can happen but I hate reading about this perfect people with supposedly no problems. NOT! Everyone has problems. The rich and famous have problems, the everyday people have problems, fangirls DEFINITELY have problems. EVERYONE has problems.


PLEASE remember that this is all entirely my opinion. Thank you for reading!

What do you think? What do you not like about romance books?

2 thoughts on “What I hate about Romance books?

  1. There is nothing – ABSOLUTELY NOTHING – I despise more than Insta-Love! It drives me completely crazy!!!!!

    I nominated you for the Creative Blogger Award by the way.. 🙂 But no pressure – if you don’t want to do it you don’t have to. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think??

