Wonder

Title: Wonderimages5VL122A1
Author: RJ Palacio
Publisher: Random House Australia
Source: Bought
Synopsis:

August (Auggie) Pullman was born with a facial deformity that prevented him from going to a mainstream school—until now. He’s about to start 5th grade at Beecher Prep, and if you’ve ever been the new kid then you know how hard that can be. The thing is Auggie’s just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he’s just like them, despite appearances?


Wonder is beautiful. It is an emotional roller coaster. It is heart-warming, honest and without a doubt an amazing read. The story is so real. When I say real, I mean it is so very close to reality. Everything from the daily lives of the characters to when they have an emotional breakdown. It is pretty much reality. I love that.

The book is written from different perspectives. There is August (the main characters), Via (Auggie’s older sister), Jack (Auggie’s friend), Summer (Auggie’s friend), Justin (Via’s boyfriend), Miranda (Via’s ex-friend) and since I got a bonus chapter I’ll add it in Julian (a student). Now I loved everyone’s perspective, even Justin’s which I thought was just random but hey it worked. Even though essentially it is about Auggie’s journey through Grade 5 in each characters perspective we explore more about them. For instance we find out that a characters parents are divorced or that someone’s family is very poor. The main plot may be about Auggie and his development but as we switch to a different character perspective we also see this character development and learn. This was the underlying sub-plot or sub-plots. I loved learning about the characters, especially Jack. I found myself hating, I mean, judging him for something he does when we read about it from Auggie’s point of view. But when Jack tells his side of the story that’s when you realise that’s it’s not enough to know just one side of the story especially if it involves someone important to you.

I will be honest and say this book made me cry, multiple times actually. The first time was at page 60, I think. I had tears in my eyes that I didn’t let fall because it would have fallen on the book and I didn’t want to wreck it with my tears. The other times I didn’t keep track but I cried. I also smiled like a lunatic. Then the next second I was cursing because some character did something stupid. One time I felt proud, really proud for Auggie. I read about him, what he has, what he’s live through, lived with and what he does about it. Unconsciously, pride was swelling in my chest. So much that I had to sit up from where I was lying. Then I welled up again.

When the book ended I was stumped. I didn’t want it to end. I wanted to read more about Auggie, his life, his family, his friends, his experiences and just everything. I wanted to know whether or not Justin and Via last forever. Or if Julian and Auggie ever became friends. Or if Jack finds the courage to ask Summer out. I wanted to know all this things and I felt like my imagination couldn’t compare to what RJ Palacio had written. It had to be written by her. I loved this book absolutely and whole-heartedly.


If you haven’t read this book, you have to. Right now. Stop what your doing buy this book and read it.


Also on other news, please Follow my blog on Bloglovin !
Thanks 😀

One thought on “Wonder

What do you think??

