Atlantia

Title: Atlantia
Author: Ally Condie
Publisher: Penguin Books Australiaatlantia-80-1412540358
Synopsis:

Can you hear Atlantia breathing? For as long as she can remember, Rio has dreamed of the sand and sky Above—of life beyond her underwater city of Atlantia. But in a single moment, all Rio’s hopes for the future are shattered when her twin sister, Bay, makes an unexpected choice, stranding Rio Below. Alone, ripped away from the last person who knew Rio’s true self—and the powerful siren voice she has long silenced—she has nothing left to lose. Guided by a dangerous and unlikely mentor, Rio formulates a plan that leads to increasingly treacherous questions about her mother’s death, her own destiny, and the corrupted system constructed to govern the Divide between land and sea. Her life and her city depend on Rio to listen to the voices of the past and to speak long-hidden truths.
From YA Central


Did. Not. Finish

It sounds so good, just sooo good. Then you read it and it just doesn’t live up to the blurb. I can’t even explain the extent of why I didn’t finish or why I don’t like it. I know for a fact that Ally Condie is the author of the Matched trilogy, which I’ve heard is really good. Now Atlantia on the hand I just do not like. Maybe I’ll just list why I don’t like then. Here we go.

What I did not like:

Some Characters

Let’s start with Rio. All she does is complain about how her sister betrayed her. How Bay would never betray her and it old REALLY quickly. I just could not stand her. As character I found her a little interesting, especially with that “true voice” secret she had. If only her Aunt Maire had been an evil siren, it would have made the entire book better, well the part I read anyway.

It is BORING.

I don’t know if it was the writing or because I just hated Rio as the narrator. I never got very far into this book and gave up really quickly. It was slow, like really. It took forever to get the point, which I’m not even sure it got to because I gave up. It was long winded and Also, I did not understand that whole “Atlantia is breathing” thing that they always bring up…

I did not understand what was going on.

Her sister left her for the Above, which I’m guessing is like the surface of the Earth and then she breaks down. Then she is still breaking down but now she’s trying to work out why Bay left her and that’s all I got. Oh wait she started to compete in swimming and and and… Then there was thing about spirits or something.

What I did like:

The idea or concept

The whole idea about this race of people living in an underwater city is really good. I’ve been waiting for someone to write this in YA and when somebody has I don’t like it. Go figure!


I found this book boring and just confusing. I didn’t understand a thing. At one point I felt like it needed more explanation but then it would really weigh down a lot on the story. I’m sure Ally Condie is a great author but I didn’t enjoy this. Maybe I’ll read the Matched trilogy.

One thought on “Atlantia

Any Thoughts??

