Are You Seeing Me?

Title: Are You Seeing Me?
Author: Darren Groth
Bought or Borrowed: Borrowed from my local library
Synopsis:

This road trip will have earth-shattering consequences . . .

AYSM - Cover With Quote 2
Copied from Darren Groth’s Blog

Twins Justine and Perry are about to embark on the road trip of a lifetime in the Pacific Northwest.

It’s been a year since they watched their dad lose his battle with cancer. Now, at only nineteen, Justine is the sole carer for her disabled brother. But with Perry having been accepted into an assisted-living residence, their reliance on each other is set to shift. Before they go their separate ways, they’re seeking to create the perfect memory.

For Perry, the trip is a glorious celebration of his favourite things: mythical sea monsters, Jackie Chan movies and the study of earthquakes.

For Justine, it’s a chance to reconcile the decision to ‘free’ her twin, to see who she is without her boyfriend, Marc – and to offer their mother the chance to atone for past wrongs.

But the instability that has shaped their lives will not subside, and the seismic event that Perry forewarned threatens to reduce their worlds to rubble . . .

– Taken from Darren Groth’s blog


Before I go into the reviewing I want to talk about how I review books. Basically, I base it on how it made me feel. I don’t like going into the technical stuff like the writing style, structure and blah blah blah! I judge on how it made me feel, the concept or the plot if you like and the characters. Also there will be spoilers. I don’t think I can write a review without slipping a few…

Back to the review. Remember SPOILERS!!!!!


I enjoyed this book a lot. It made me happy, laugh, cry and cry and laugh at the same time. It was a roller coaster ride. So this book is written in the alternating point of view of Justine and Perry. It is about their trip to Canada before Perry moves out of home.

This is one of the first books I’ve read that talks about disability which is an integral part of the story and to be honest sometimes I forgot that. Darren Groth wrote Perry like you he did Justine, a normal person. That’s what Perry was, a normal person who had a disability. The way he wrote about him was beautiful because it addresses the fact that when some people see someone with a disability they automatically treat them differently. I’m not just talking about being nice and airy-fairy either but I’ve seen how people look at them like they aren’t from the same species as normal, average non-disabled people.

Despite the story being about the twins I felt Perry had a bigger role or part to play. Majority of the time he was there to stabilise Justine because of all the stress and pressure she is going through. Around Perry, Justine could focus and I guess sort out her priorities at that moment when she felt like everything was going out of her control. Especially since their father died and now their mother wants to come back into their lives.

Perry is mature for his age but also very honest and introverted in some ways. He prefers to keep things to himself if he knows it might cause trouble but if asked about it he won’t lie. He is also brave, loving and forgiving. Despite having his own insecurities and fears Perry did great things, just like his alias Jackie Chan. Perry is my favourite character out of the book because of these things.

This is definitely a book I would recommend to people and not just specific people but everyone, over the age of 13 that is! It may be a young adult novel but it has depth and maturity that teenagers and adults can both enjoy.


 

Have you read Are You Seeing Me? If so tell me what you think about it!

One thought on “Are You Seeing Me?

Any Thoughts??

